The Importance of Timing the Games You Play

Shifting further down the line of launched apps on my PS4 sits The Witcher 3. The heading at the top of its icon reads ‘Game of the Year Edition’ and yet it keeps moving down the list.

I say this because I haven’t yet had the probable pleasure of experiencing the game’s final expansion: Blood and Wine. And this is because I’m perfectly happy to let it sit there and gather its digital dust on an imaginative bookshelf. This is because of timing.

Dark-Souls-Prepare-to-Die-Edition-Available-on-PC-in-Australia-and-New-Zealand-Banner
One of the best games ever made.

Have you ever played a game, watched a movie, read a book, or had an experience that was so damned amazing or thrilling that you wanted to recreate the experience as soon as it was over? This is something that I’ve had quite a few times. Dark Souls, for example, is one such game where I wanted to continually experience the game for the first time. Therefore, I went in search of a similar experience, one that would allow me to continue on my high of challenge and minimalist storytelling. Following a brief search, I found Demon’s Souls.

I was unsurprisingly intrigued, given the game’s cult following, high praise, and warnings of a challenge. However, as I played the game, I realised that the high Dark Souls had evoked wasn’t quite there; it wasn’t an experience that conjured that same oomph.

Now, this could simply be the fact that I didn’t enjoy Demon’s Souls as much as Dark Souls. However, I don’t think this was the case. I pretty sure it was because I rushed to continue the high despite needing to let the Dark Souls experience breath; to let myself emotionally and mentally digest the experience. I wasn’t ready for Demon’s Souls, and my first experience of the game suffered because of this.

Falling_Desktop_1920x1200
Thankfully, I gave this another go.

I’m pretty sure I knew this at the time, but I didn’t care. I continued to do it with games – and definitely books – again and again. I simply told myself that I didn’t like it, it wasn’t for me, and it wasn’t as good as everyone described it to be. Take Bioshock: Infinite, for instance, a game I initially loathed – I gave it an hour’s chance to live up to the excellence of the series’ previous iterations. However, upon revisiting the game at a later date, I found it to be riveting. I reevaluated my opinion and found that I admired the game’s emotionally gripping narrative and its beautiful visuals.

From my time with video games, one cannot force an experience, nor should there be any pressure to play a particular game because of its popularity or similarity to another. This is why The Witcher 3 sits at the end of my PlayStation 4’s dashboard and will stay there until I feel the time is right. It’s all about timing.

maxresdefault
I’ve read great and depressing opinions.

Limbo is one such game that fits into this category. I’ve heard, or rather read, praising opinions, so I’ll be taking my own advice and starting with Limbo.

If you feel the same, disagree, or just want to talk about irrelevant topics, then leave a comment or an opinion.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Timing the Games You Play

  1. My copy of Witcher 3 has been gathering dust after my initial 13 hour gameplay, where I meticulously cleared White Orchard and played way too much Gwent. I haven’t played it since then…not because I hated it, simply because I believe one needs to dedicate at least 12 hours per session for it.

    Like

    1. I agree, it’s definitely a game one needs to completely invest in without much going on. The size and length of the game can be intimidating and with so many lengthy games releasing, not to mention games in general, it’s hard to commit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

